Puslinch Township is made up of 13 villages. The area was incorporated as a Township on January 1, 1850. It was named after the home of Elizabeth Yonge, the wife of Sir John Colborne. Colborne was the Lieutenant Govenor of Upper Canada from 1828 to 1835. Over time, Puslinch has also been known by other names such as Puselynch, Posselinch, and Puzzlewitch.
By the early 1830s, settlers began arriving in the area and forming the different communities that would eventually make up Puslinch Township. Many of the groups came from Scotland, and named their communities after their hometowns in the old country. Other communities were named for some of the first families in the area, or the first prominent businessmen of the time.
Other settlers in the area came from England, Ireland, and Germany.
The villages of Puslinch Township are:
• Glen Christie
• Paddock’s Corners
• Puslinch Lake
Today, Puslinch remains a peaceful place to seek out a country lifestyle while still enjoying the conveniences of nearby cities. This tight-knit community is focussed on bringing neighbours and friends together with a range of community events and activities. Puslinch Township also prides itself on it’s stunning natural surroundings and provides many outdoor facilities to encourage outdoor exploration.
Although still a small, rural area nestled to the south of Guelph and to the east of Cambridge, Puslinch’s population has grown according to the 2011 Census results. The total population in 2011 was 7029, which translates to a 5.1% increase since the previous census.